Moms The Word

February 27, 2007

All The Fun You Can Eat (To Do About Tuesdays)

Filed under: Fun Stories, House and Home, To-Do about Tuesday — mrslady @ 2:47 am

I tell you what, it is a near-super-human ability 3 year olds have of knowing when you’re really tired. I don’t know what happened the other morning, but my son woke up at like 8 am (after me going to bed at 330) and it was ON.

I crawled into the living room with my blanket and my pillow and layed on the ground in front of the tv. I popped in Veggi Tales, and tried to “rest my eyes”. Of course, in three year old this means “mommy wants to play!!!” So he stands above me and does that siren yell (you know the one):

“mmmmoooooooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!”

To which I open one eye and say “what?”-in the nicest voice possible.

To which my child responds “no”!

To which I close my eyes.

To which my child jumps on my back elbows first and screams “MOOOMMMMMMMMMYYYYYYYYY!”

To which I open both eyes (giving him the strict mommy face) and say “Yes. Aidan. Mommy. WHAT?” A little louder, but trying to keep my cool.

To which my son says “sorry mommy, love you” and blows me a kiss. I feel much better, tell him I love him too and close my eyes.

At which point my son jumps with full-body-force onto my knee caps, and starts bouncing up and down going “sorry mommy. sorry mommy. sorry mommy. sorry mommy….”

I say in my bestest-calmest-not-crazy voice “SORRY is for accidents baby. How can mommy help you?”

To which my son responds by starting to sniffle. Then he starts wandering around the house moaning-not crying, just this infuriating monotone“uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuhhhhhhhhhhhhh. *sniffle* wahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh”-and driving his truck on his hand, on the wall, on the doors, pretty much everywhere except the carpet. Which would normally bug me, but at this point I don’t really care because I am so tired. But then he comes back.

In his whiniest voice he says “mmmmmooooooooooo”

“AIDAN DOUGLAS WHAT DO YOU WANT?!” This time in an extremely irritated voice-but not yelling. I try really hard not to yell.

“Drink”

“Okay fine. Here. Better?”

“Thank you”

At which point I close my eyes and he throws his cup on the ground (spill proof YAY!) and starts moaning.

“What?”

“Drink”

“You HAD a drink, but you threw it on the ground”

The logic escapes him.

“Drink!”

“Son, if you want a drink you will pick that right back up and drink your juice. If you want to go back to bed, you will stand there and continue to cry. Make a decision so that mommy can rest now.”

At which point he starts to cry.

At which point I go crazy. Not dangerous crazy. Just quiet crazy, in my head. I shove my head in the pillow and scream silently.

Then my son crawls down beside me and snuggles up to me and goes to sleep. I am not frustrated anymore but SHOCKED how he can go from cute to crazy to cute again in a matter of only 2 HOURS!

Which brings me to To Do about Tuesdays. This week: How to keep a 3 year old occupied when you are far too tired to run like a crazy person or explain yourself over and over.

What to do? One word-playdough. I know, it sounds crazy. Go with me here.

You roll up like a quarter of a tub of playdough into a ball and turn them loose on the kitchen linoleum. [Not recommended for carpets!!!!!] If your kids are anything like my son, they will be facinated by the ball of playdough itself-and the fact that it is a ball-for about a half hour. Then they discover it squishes, much to their delight. It is pretty much home-style self entertainment, AND it’s non-toxic for all of those who dare to try.

This is also a good rainy day activity, and can even double as educational when you get your energy back. Make shapes, talk about colors, it’s tons of fun 🙂

If you don’t want to buy playdough (which I don’t because you can make it so easy and so cheap) you can also make it a science experiment and make your own!

To make Playdough::
YOU WILL NEED:
3 cups flour
1.5 cups salt
6 tsp cream of tarter
3 tbsp oil
3 cups water
Food coloring

Pour all ingredients into a large pot. Stir constantly over medium heat until a ball forms by pulling away from the sides. Knead the playdough until the texture matches playdough (1-2 minutes).

Stored in plastic container, it should last for at least 3 months. Or your toddler can just eat it right away. [Not recommended in large amounts, or for animals~yet makes for some very interesting poo/vomit.]

Have fun and rest up!

1 Comment »

  1. I LOVE play-dough! (This post was pretty cute too!)

    =D

    Comment by Rebecca — February 27, 2007 @ 8:43 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

