Moms The Word

March 7, 2007

Audio-Biography

Filed under: Life, Music, Participation Post — mrslady @ 6:32 pm

So, in honor of reaching 1,000 views on my blog I wanted to do something cool.  Here it is-my audio-biography.  What?  You are thinking.  It sounds like you’re trying to use a big word you don’t know.  And while I have done that, that’s not it this time.  This time I actually mean audio-biography….[one of the times where I make up my own word.]

It has always  been my personal opinion that one of the best ways to get to know a person is through the music that they like and identify with.  So what better way to get to know all of my new blog-friends than by sharing lists of songs that we like and think describe our lives?  It’s an audio-auto-biography!  However, that doesn’t make for a catchy headline, so I went with audio-biography.  It was either that or “blogaudiopalooza” but that is not even a word.

If you would like to make a list, I would LOVE to see it.  If you would be so kind as to include a link to this post in your list that would make me feel super-special as well as give people the opportunity to look at a lot (hopefully) of other lists and have fun and chit-chat all around!  We’ll see how successful this gets-it could take a while, so there’s not going to be a time issue on this one.

Here is my list~enjoy!  I hope to see yours soon.  (p.s.  Some of these song links will have weird videos on them because they are from YouTube and people can edit their own videos in.  For example, my son from the Cranberries has a Lord of the Rings video attached to it.  [wha?!?!]  I picked the versions I did because they were either a.)the best sound quality available or b.) the only sound clip available.  So try not to be weirded out by the videos…..maybe do something else on your screen while you listen to it.  Or something…..)

Anyway, without further ado-My Audio-Biography

Kenny Chesney:Back Where I Come From   This song is like the feeling of home to me, and reminds me of my childhood. Not like specific events in my childhood, just the feeling of childhood.

Toby Keith and Willie Nelson:Beer for My Horses   This song reminds me of my grandparents. They were good, salt-of-the-earth southerners who’s belief in God was only matched by their faith in Justice.

Death Cab for Cutie:Someday You Will Be Loved  This is a song that I would have made myself listen to as a young teenager. If it were around then, and I could travel in time.

The Cranberries:Empty   Late-teenager hood, enough said.

Weezer:Photograph  This song is about love, in a slightly different view-about how love will crush your heart but you have to keep trying. Also appropriate for my late-teen years.

Garth Brooks:Cowboy Cadillac   This song always makes me remember the fun times I had in my younger years. They may have been few and far between, but they were certainly worth remembering. *Sorry, mp3 of this song is mysteriously hard to find. The link will take you to the complete written lyrics for this song.  If you want to hear the song, you can look on Garth Brooks “Seven” CD*

Frank Sinatra:You Make Me Feel So Young  In the very beginning of my relationship with my other half, we discovered we both loved Frankie-the rest is history.

Keith Urban:Who Wouldn’t Want to be Me   A love song that came out around the time we got together….wow, that long ago?? The weird part is thinking that 2002 was FIVE YEARS AGO. That almost scares me. This is just a sample of the song, but you can find the complete lyrics here

Lauryn Hill:To Zion  This song meant a lot to me when I was pregnant with my son, and still makes me cry when I hear it.  It is all “Funky Styled” and featuring Santana in this version, but it still has the same words.  If you want to hear the “regular” version, you can hear it on Lauryn’s Miseducation of Lauryn Hill album. (PS-Zion is the name of her son.  Maybe you could figure that out, but I had this album since it came out and it took me a WHILE to figure that out.)

Rodney Atkins:I’ve Been Watching You   This song is about dad’s and sons. My honey teared up [the man version of crying] when he heard it (don’t tell him I told you that!). He said it’s exactly how he sees his relationship with our son.  If you’re only going to listen to one song on my list, listen to this one.

My Wish: Rascal Flats A great song from parents to kids, that always makes me think about my son. *sigh*

Ray Charles:Busted  Life is hard, and somtimes you’re just broke. [At least, we are.] But hey, on the bright side, it makes for a very nice jazz song. This is just a sample of it, but you can find the complete lyrics here

Cake:Stick Shifts and Safety Belts  The man’s son from him to me. His reasoning? He loves cars. He loves me. So naturally he loves this song and thinks its about us. It’s cute.

Alanis Morisette:Everything  My song from me to him. A little more on the gushy side, but I’m a girl.

Nat King Cole:For Sentimental Reasons  A great love song that keeps a special place for honey and I. In this instance, not sang by the King Cole himself-but the lady singing it has a very nice voice anyway!

Have fun making your own blogaudiopalooza!  [See?  Much better as audio-biography!]

3 Comments »

  1. […] Hell (Before the Devil Even Knows), Rodney Atkins; Would You Go With Me, Josh Turner. …Audio-Biography Rodney Atkins:I?ve Been Watching You This song is about dad?s and sons. My honey teared up [the man […]

    Pingback by Rodney Atkins » Rodney Atkins March 8, 2007 5:56 am — March 8, 2007 @ 2:59 am

  2. I LOVE that Rodney Atkins song! It reminds me of my brother and nephew (Not The Man and Ninja Boy, for some reason??).

    Maybe I’ll do this next week! It’s a cool take on the usual “What just played on my iPod” game….one that will require THOUGHT. So, it can only be done over the weekend.

    Love it!

    Comment by Amy H — March 8, 2007 @ 12:24 pm

  3. Stick Shifts and Saftey Belts reminds me of dating my husband during high school! I love that song! Whenever we hear it now we usually have to kiss before it’s over. I’m going to go play it now!

    Comment by mysocalledperfectlife — March 9, 2007 @ 7:58 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

