Moms The Word

March 9, 2007

Hermit the Blogger

Filed under: Family, House and Home, Life — mrslady @ 11:37 pm

Let’s be honest.  I was never a supremely social person.  In perspective: if you do not count hunny, or the little bear, or anyone I am related to, I have had exactly FOUR friends in my entire life-none of whom I am in contact with anymore.  Not that I don’t “aquaint” with people.  You can’t swing a dead cat without hitting a person, and occasionally you are bound to hit someone you kindof-almost-know-from-that-one-place with your dead feline friend.  But if you count people that I actually had some form of “bond” with-or even people who’s names I bothered to remember-you get four. 

((The hunny on the other hand, is like the Prom King of social skills comparitively speaking.  Of course, there are dogs with better social skills than I so it’s not exactly saying much. [They keep friends for life!]  However, I do think that he is especially more social than the average person because people genuinely seem to like him and even say hi to him when they see him in public places.  I personally try to avoid people saying hi to me in public, because they always know my name, but I never have the vaguest recollection of where I met them or any details about them, however minor.  It usually limits me to an awkwardly fake conversation.  “Hi there.  So you like this store?  That’s super.  How are you?  Super.  How is your family?  Super.  That’s great.  You have a good day.”  And I really hate fakeness.))

Anywho, back to me being socially incompetant.  I am.  I don’t know why exactly except that since I was a kid I have always perferred alone time to the company of others [exceptions being I love spending time with my other half, and with the baby].  Hunny is always encouraging me to branch out and “make eye contact” with another living being that is not in our immediate family at least once every three weeks, but I find this to be difficult, and frankly an overestimation of how much effort I am willing to put into people that I don’t know/am not related to.

“So,” you ask yourself.  “Why are you telling me how much you hate being with people?  I think I am getting slightly offended here.”  Please don’t.  I am coming to the point of this long and aimless story soon and I promise it ends very nicely in your favor.

Continuing on, recently the hunny has been promoted [yay] to a job that requires him to travel for a month or so at a time , being home only about 1 or 2 weeks in between months on the road [boo!].  This is especially difficult for me as I am as crazy for him as the day we met and miss him when he gets up in the middle of the night to pee. [Dead serious, but that’s another post.]  Also considering that he is the only person in the world I talk to about anything real.  He’s my best friend!  But if my best friend is working 12-18 hour days a couple of states away, and I despise “meeting new people”-then who am I going to talk to?  How am I going to make sure my head does not explode after weeks and weeks of having my only-half-english-speaking 3 year old to talk to?  And what about when the baby does that screaming thing?  I hate the screaming thing!  [My son-arms folded-standing in the middle of the living room shrieking at the top of his lungs completely inconsolable/undiciplinable for about 15-30 minutes at a time.  He doesn’t do it very often, but when he does!]  How will I take my mind off of the stress?

Then I discovered blogging.  The wonderful-whirly-vortex-o’-fun.  And you know what?  I LIKE virtually meeting people.  I am having a blast with my bloggy-pals, and meeting more and more bloggy pals every day!  I think it’s fun.  And while I’m certain that doesn’t count as “real” social skills-and is, in fact, probably a sign of a severe social disorder-I am certainly celebrating the fun I’m having and the new and great bloggy-friends I’m making.

Awww, see now?  I told you this ended very nicely in your favor.  Thank you for being my bloggy friend-without you my brain would explode!

1 Comment »

  1. […] question was put to me by my lovely fellow mommy blogger Karen.  While I did post recently about social dysfunction as a catalyst for blogging I thought that it would be well worth while coming up with some other […]

    Pingback by Why do I Blog? Let Me Count the Reasons… « Moms The Word — March 11, 2007 @ 12:06 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

