Moms The Word

March 11, 2007

Sick of Illness

Filed under: Family, Life — mrslady @ 10:59 am

Poor, poor, poor, poor little pooh bear!  He is sooooo sick!  And I feel just awful because I gave it to him. [Good job mommy.]  I gave him a cold and of course it magnified like a thousand times because he is a baby.  (Well maybe not a baby, but he’s MY baby and he is only just under 3!)  Plus I feel extra-rotten because he is probably going to be sick on his 3rd birthday (Tuesday) and that means that no one can come over and he can’t have cake and ice cream.

He has been sick for ever four days, and it just keeps getting worse and worse.  For the last two days he doesn’t even want to eat.  I had to fight him to get him to eat a few nibbles of a waffle, one animal cracker, and half a banana.   Of course, I’ve been freaking out trying to get him to eat anything, but all he wants is juice-so I pump him full of liquids.  He has had more liquid in the last 4 days than he has had in the previous 6 months of his life.  Juice, and tea, and water, and pedialyte….his cough is terrible and he’s been running a low grade fever the whole time.  And as of yesterday he’s even developed the super poo (diarhea).

Oh, and he’s been waking up in the night like he hasn’t since he was 6 months old.  I’m serious-he has been waking up every two hours for the last four days.  Let me tell you something-when you haven’t done that in two and a half years, you get a little out of shape and you’re not quite able to “bounce back” from horribly interrupted sleep like you used to. 

I am getting sick of illness!  My symptoms?  Stomach pain from constant worrying, headache from constant wakefulness, and sore muscles from “sleeping” on the couch in a state of fire fighter like readiness. 

It has psychological symptoms too.  Sleep deprivation and constant worrying manifests in me as a loss of inner dialouge (talking to myself out loud),  attention span gaps (staring into space and “thinking” about nothing), and being mentally unable to distinguish why it is NOT okay to call my parents/inlaws/sister/hunny upwards of 3 times a day (sorry guys!). 

I should be greatful that my son hasn’t gotten really sick like this since he was about 5 months old, but I just want my baby to feel better soon, and it is making me crazy!  I don’t know how people with children that actually get sick like normal kids (once or twice a year) do it!

2 Comments »

  1. UUUgh Im sorry. I hope your little guy feels better soon. We are stuck in the sick kid vortex ourselves. Heres to spring!

    Comment by Sarah — March 11, 2007 @ 4:07 pm

  2. […] mentioned in an earlier post about how the baby is sick today.  And of course, with being sick comes being grumpy.  Well right before nap today he had a total […]

    Pingback by A Story I Will Tell « Moms The Word — March 11, 2007 @ 9:17 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

