Moms The Word

March 11, 2007

Why do I Blog? Let Me Count the Reasons…

Filed under: Good Ideas — mrslady @ 12:06 am

Why do I blog?  The question was put to me by my lovely fellow mommy blogger Karen.  While I did post recently about social dysfunction as a catalyst for blogging I thought that it would be well worth while coming up with some other reasons I love it.  Well, really I am only going to count 5 reasons unless I suddenly have an epiphany of some sort and absolutely must put a sixth reason on here.  I don’t predict that coming up.  We’ll see…I could change my mind in the next five minutes (I have been known to change it that fast and faster!).

In no particular order:

5.  I love talking to other moms with children my age, but I don’t always like the moms that live around me.  (I know, shock!)  The truth is, I’m kind of afraid of my neighbor because I can always hear her yelling through my ceiling/her floor and she sounds kind of “intense” to say the least.  So I get the benefits of socializing without the pressure to get out of my pjs or listen to someone yell at me.

4.  Blogging is a good “time out” when I need it.  Sometimes I get so centered around my son that I don’t realize there is a giant stress knot building in my neck until I am practically paralyzed.  Not to mention that sometimes-only sometimes-I like to think about things that are not preschooler related.  I like to interact with people who’s favorite shows are NOT  Veggi Tales, Finding Nemo, Dora the Explorer, or Bob the Builder.  Don’t get me wrong, I adore my son in every way.  But when he is napping, or down for the night, somtimes I like to interact with adults as an “intermission” to all-day-all-the-time baby interaction.

3.  Hubby is gone on business, and I can’t sleep without him.  In my defense, I haven’t been adjusted to sleeping by myself since we got together 4 years, 4 months, and 4 days ago (but who’s counting?).  I can pass out from exhaustion (and I have!) but I just can’t bring myself to lay down, close my eyes, and go to sleep.  I usually can lay down, but once I try to close my eyes I get all these sad missing the hunny thoughts and I have to get up and do something.  Then I discovered that late-night television is BAD! You can only watch so many commercials for “the magic bullet food processor” before you you go nuts “in only three easy steps!”.

2.  Information.  It is absolutely CRAZY the amount of information you can get on blogs!  It’s great to be able to get information (like kitchen tips from WFMW at Rocks in my Dryer) and share information that I have (like yummy crock pot recipes, which seems to have gone over well).  I’m glad we mommies have a place to stick together and share all of our tips and secrets.  It makes it easier to live our day to day lives-and everyone knows what makes mommy happy makes EVERYONE happy.

1. Inspiration.  Almost every day, I find something in the bloggy world that makes me laugh, makes me cry, and makes me have the warm fuzzies.  I love hearing stories from other moms that make me understand my son better.  I also love getting tips from people who know more about subjects than I do.  I am not an expert on very many things!  For instance, my MIL’s blog which has opened up the ability for me to be “fashion concious” in even the vaguest and least effective of ways.  I love hearing from people who have something important to say, even if it’s “just” the best way to organize your pantry (which I think is a great tip to have in your arsenal!).  If everyone blogs about what they know, we can all get together with our “words from the wise” and get more done, more effectively, and get a great sense of community along with it.

I realize that the last two are very similar, but I think that they are slightly different-and that’s what counts! 

When I look at my responses though, it looks like it can all be boiled down to the fact that I am in need of adult interaction with other moms to give me tips and inspire me throughout the day.  I could have said that in one sentance.  I just did.   But then you wouldn’t have gotten to read this post.

*Thanks Karen for letting me know I can tag other people.  I would be interested in hearing from Amy H. and Jeana on this topic!

5 Comments »

  1. I hear ya…I was just having a conversation with my husband about how blogging “feeds” ALL bloggers in some way, shape or form. Non-bloggers don’t get it, and I suppose we shouldn’t expect them to.

    It’s amazing to me to think about how I’ve been influenced over the past year or so (my blog has been “public” for less than a year). I’ve learned a great deal, been challenged in my faith AND in life, and have met a fair number of blogpals I ENJOY!

    Blogging……..it’s a GOOD thing! 🙂

    Comment by Robin — March 11, 2007 @ 5:38 am

  2. oh thanks, you have some great reason and late night television in very very bad – except for the fact that I love Craig Ferguson rather unreasonably for being in recovery and for staying off poor Britney…by the by a Meme is just what you did, you downloaded from your brain to the rest of us in a format easy to pass on…feel free to tag your mommy blogging friends and thanks!

    Comment by karen — March 11, 2007 @ 8:09 am

  3. Great reasons. What? You don’t want to endlessly talk about Dora?! Im the map im the map im the map im the map….

    Sorry. There is alot of doraspeak in my life at the moment. I am one viewing of pablo and the magic flute away from insanity.

    Comment by Sarah — March 11, 2007 @ 4:10 pm

  4. Very nice post!

    I personally think that in our fragmented and isolated lifestyles these days we still need community and blogging is a wonderful way to find it.

    Once in awhile I am sad that I’m closer to many of my IFs than my RLFs, but it’s … different. And I am SO HAPPY that you are both now!!!

    Comment by Rebecca — March 12, 2007 @ 3:04 pm

  5. By the way, thanks so much for the complimentary mention!

    Comment by Rebecca — March 12, 2007 @ 3:05 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

