Moms The Word

March 13, 2007

WFMW Gets Political

Filed under: Ron Paul 2008, WFMW — mrslady @ 10:59 pm

Before I post about my own political persuasions and such, I would just like to say for the record that I absolutely support people’s right to feel however they feel about politics, be of whatever persuasion they choose, and disagree with any or all of what I believe.  I also want to say that I am not trying to start any fights or upset anyone, and I don’t intend for my blog to cause controversy.  I do believe, however, that politics play a crucial part of our lives, and I feel that this post is necissary for myself.  As always, feel free to disagree politely 😀

I believe that moms are a great force among society.  They are a huge part of the demographics that make up America.  It is an absolute fact that advertisers know if they want to sell something to families they have to market it to mom. 

And there is nothing more important out there that we are being “sold” on than politics.  We have politicians vying for our ear and our support-as women and as mothers.  I believe it is our duty to make responsible and thurough decisions when electing the leaders who will be shaping the world for our children and our grandchildren, and that it appeals to our conscience to find someone who represents what we believe in. 

Let me start by giving you some background on what I believe politically.  Although up until this point I have been registered independant, my leanings were most closesly aligned with the Liberetarian party.  Liberatarians basically believe that people should have absolute freedom as long as they do not use it to impose on the rights and freedoms of others (eg-It isn’t your right to steal from people, because then you are taking away their right to own property.)   However, the best way to explain what I believe is to simply say this.  I believe in the Constitution  and in the Bill of Rights absolutely and whole heartedly.  I think that they are the founding documents of our society and that the farther we get away from what is written in them, the more astray our country goes.

I am pro-life, pro-securing our borders, pro-soldier, pro-business, and pro-capitalism.  I am anti-imperialism, anti-world government, and anti-consolidated federal power.  But above all I am pro-personal liberties and believe that every person is guaranteed by contract (also known as the constitution) to the rights laid out therein.  The right to make their own decisions without the federal government or world government stepping in.

Based on my political beliefs I started the search for who exactly I was going to vote for in 2008.  And at first, the pool seemed slim and slimy.  I can honestly tell you, if it were down to the people who were “in” the race as of two days ago I would have had no choice except NOT to vote, because I couldn’t look myself in the face knowing that my vote could have put one of them in office. 

Then I ran across Ron Paul.  I had no idea who this guy was.  Appearantly his is already a representative from Texas.  This is actually beneficial in my eyes, because that means I can look up his voting record-which I did.  I have spent a couple days not saying anything but just researching this guy from top to bottom, and I can tell you this.

Ron Paul works for me, and has my vote in 2008.  Please, check out his stance on the issues and see if he works for you.  Remember, moms and women in general have a lot of pull in the political world-use it to make it better for our kids! 

For those who are concerned about voting Independant or Liberetarian, like Alli, GOOD NEWS!  Ron Paul is actually running for GOP (Republican) nomination.  I am sure, like you, he realizes the gamble associated with running for a third party.  I guess this means, I’m going to have to register Republican for the primaries…..

::UPDATE::For more information about how you can get more information go here for updates!

::UPDATE2::I have completed a basic blog about Ron Paul, his policies, why I support him, and what I am doing to support him.  If you would like information, or would like to help support please visit here.

[For more WFMW, visit Rocks in My Dryer]

8 Comments »

  1. I am not a mom yet, but as a woman I feel that it is my responsibility to vote and have voted in nearly every election since I turned 18. We have a close friend and a woman officer who has returned from Iraq (injured but strong) and the chaos that she describes and the lack of leadership over there is mind numbing. For me this will be a major issue when I vote.

    Comment by Jane — March 14, 2007 @ 4:03 am

  2. Hi there~

    Found you through RIMD, but I think I’ve come upon your site before….mind if I share my thoughts?

    First, I totally agree with your stance on all the issues. And I agree with you that the group from which we have to pick (so far) for our next president is not one that gives me confidence in the direction our country is taking. If I had to vote today, I think I would just sit down in the floor and cry because I can’t NOT vote, but I don’t think I can vote for any of the current candidates (although, I need to take a closer look at Romney).

    However, I’m not sure how I feel about voting Libertarian or Independent. I would love to vote for anyone that shares all of my beliefs and values. But don’t you feel that your vote is going to be wasted or that it won’t matter if you vote for an Independent or Libertarian? I know, I know, you could at least say afterward (when the administration and/or the country fall apart) that you voted. But did your vote change anything? Do you think that an Independent or Libertarian could actually get enough votes behind him (or her) to come close to winning?

    Anyway, I’m certainly not trying to debate with you…how productive would that be since I agree with you?;) I just don’t think I could vote outside of Republican or Democrat unless I knew without a doubt that an Independent or Libertarian might actually win.

    Thanks for your thoughts and for encouraging moms to get involved…we are a force to be reckoned with and we could turn this election around!!

    Comment by Alli — March 14, 2007 @ 5:44 am

  3. Jane-I certainly understand Iraq being of primary concern to you in the next election. It certainly will be for myself as well (we have a family friend that is expecting to be deployed there June of this year). I can’t tell exactly what your stance is from your post, but here is [in part] what Ron Paul’s website says about his beliefs regarding Iraq, war in general, and foriegn policy.

    “The war in Iraq was sold to us with false information. The area is more dangerous now than when we entered it. We destroyed a regime hated by our direct enemies, the jihadists, and created thousands of new recruits for them. This war has cost more than 3,000 American lives, thousands of seriously wounded, and hundreds of billions of dollars. We must have new leadership in the White House to ensure this never happens again.

    Both Jefferson and Washington warned us about entangling ourselves in the affairs of other nations. Today, we have troops in 130 countries. We are spread so thin that we have too few troops defending America. And now, there are new calls for a draft of our young men and women.

    We can continue to fund and fight no-win police actions around the globe, or we can refocus on securing America and bring the troops home. No war should ever be fought without a declaration of war voted upon by the Congress, as required by the Constitution.

    Under no circumstances should the U.S. again go to war as the result of a resolution that comes from an unelected, foreign body, such as the United Nations……At the same time, we must not isolate ourselves. The generosity of the American people has been felt around the globe. Many have thanked God for it, in many languages. Let us have a strong America, conducting open trade, travel, communication, and diplomacy with other nations.”

    Comment by mrslady — March 14, 2007 @ 6:53 am

  4. Alli-I am SO glad you brought that up!!! I knew I forgot something 😀 That is one of people’s main concerns when it comes to voting for someone like Ron Paul.

    Good news, however! He is actually running for GOP nomination, not under the Liberetarian or Independant category. On one hand, that means I am going to have to register Republican, which I never thought in a thousand years I’d do. BUT in this circumstance I think it will be worth it!

    Again, thanks for asking the question that I’m sure everyone will want to know. I am going to edit the post itself to add this information in there!

    Comment by mrslady — March 14, 2007 @ 6:56 am

  5. Wow. You are one brave, brave soul for bringing up politics. Good on ya sister!

    Ron Paul. I’ll have to check him out. Thanks for the tip!

    I, myself, am a huge Barrack Obama fan. Love him.

    Hillary Clinton scares the living bejesus out of me and I wouldn’t leave my chia pet alone with her, I don’t think. I feel like she’s out to prove that women can do this too! WOMEN CAN DO THIS TOO DAMNIT! WOMEN CAN! WE CAN! SEEEEE! It’s a little much for me.

    Mitt Romney. He’s a Mormon. I used to be Mormon. That’s interesting. He’s a flip flopper and he won’t give a stance on Iraq.

    I predict that whoever lights a fire under our burrowed behinds and pulls us on out of Iraq, will win. And good.

    This is fun to come over to your site and pick political fights! 🙂

    Jamie

    Comment by Jamie @ F.O.B.S. — March 14, 2007 @ 8:26 am

  6. Thanks for posting Jamie. Your political “fights” seem fair enough-no name calling or anything 😀

    I was interested in Obama too for a minute, but then I had to ask myself-except for being a black man, how does he differ from Hillary Clinton? Their stated policies are very similar. And while I would agree that Hillary is as scary as it gets, I think that Obama would only be the luke-warm version of the same cup of tea. After all, they are both active in the CFR (Council on Foreign Relations) which I believe does some pretty bad things.

    I am always happy to hear other people’s opinions as long as everyone keeps it a clean and fair fight 😀

    Comment by mrslady — March 14, 2007 @ 9:44 am

  7. Oh me, oh my, does Hilary ever scare the bejeezus out of me, too. There was one speech she made not too long ago about Exxon Mobil’s profits…that was the speech that sent me over the edge with her. That was the speech that made me literally afraid of her becoming president. And she tries too hard to “relate” whatever group of people she’s addressing.

    Anyway…..

    Thanks for clearing that up, MrsLady. That does make me feel better. Here in Texas we had 3 people running as Independents for governor last year, and none of them had a chance even though they were all well publicized. I’ll definitely be checking out Ron Paul.

    I love a good clean debate/discussion!

    Comment by Alli — March 14, 2007 @ 10:51 am

  8. Funny you should mention Texas Alli! Ron Paul actually represents the 14th District in Texas right now! (For those who don’t live in Texas, that’s from the Gulf Coast in Galveston and Chambers counties almost to Corpus Christi; north through Victoria; and east through Jackson and Wharton counties toward Houston.) You can visit his current house site at:

    http://www.house.gov/paul/

    There’s even a place where his constitutants can write to him and ask questions. I’m sure if you or someone you know is in that district, you can get a hold of him and ask!

    Comment by mrslady — March 14, 2007 @ 12:38 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

