Moms The Word

April 7, 2007

In The Groove

Filed under: Blog Business, Family, Good Ideas, House and Home — mrslady @ 12:33 pm

As I’m sure you can tell, I had to change my blog look again, because every time I looked at my page there was something bothering me.  I couldn’t figure out what it was until I realized the print was so tiny I my brain was starting to hurt more than normal.  Maybe it was just me-I am kind of blind-but I had to fix it.  I think this layout looks nice, but we’ll see how it sits with me over the next couple of days.  Your input would be very appreciated seeing as how you deal with it too.  I wouldn’t want anyone to develop the squint eye trying to read my blog 🙂

In further adventures IRL, my lovely other half has ordered me to relax and do things that I want to do today.  I’ll admit it’s been a long time since I’ve even thought about what interests me…….the best I could come up with was going grocery shopping by myself.  Oh yes, that’s right-by myself like a grown up and everything. That means no screaming howler monkey curious toddler in the cart grabbing things off of the shelves and forcing me to buy them by throwing them on the ground or in other ways destroying them.  Who wants a jar of broken pickles?  Me either.  The twisted part is that it sounds so relaxing-I must be getting really boring.  Driving to the store blasting my music without worry of deafening my child, walking around the store without the worry that at any moment my child could be “done with shopping”.  [Grocery shopping with a toddler is like shopping with a dinner timer, but you can’t see the timer.  All of a sudden you just hear the “wwwwwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhh” and you know it’s all over.]  I’m so happy that I don’t have to do the “supermarket sweep” style of shopping-I’m going to lesiurely walk up and down every isle at least twice and actually bother to look at what I’m buying before I throw it in the cart.  I’m not going to leave the store until I make sure that I have not forgotten even the smallest and least significant item. 

I’m even taking a list.  I LOVE making my grocery list.  My new method is a fairly recent addition to my organizational arsonal (though others may have been doing it this way for years), but a lovely one if I do say so myself.  What I do is I write out the days until I next go grocery shopping (usually to coincide with payday) and then I make a meal plan for each day.  Then I look at the meal plan, go through my fridge and write down the things I need. This also helps if we’re especially budget conscious that week because then I can see what meals we can make with the things we already have.  It also prevents me from ending up with five bottles of vanilla and no butter (don’t laugh!  I’ve done it!).

And now-onward to my mommy safari 🙂

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

