Moms The Word

April 9, 2007

Suzy Homemaker Strikes Again

Filed under: Family, General Info, House and Home — mrslady @ 10:16 am

This week I have been shocking and aweing my family with delightful culinary masterpieces for dinner.  Is this a devious plot to ensure that my hubby will be rediculously homesick while working in Alaska and eating hotel food?  Absolutely not.  Yes.  Yes it is.

It is also because I want him to have something of nutritional value in his system before he goes because instead of eating normal food he just buys a bunch of pop tarts/cup o noodles to eat because he doesn’t want to “cook”.

So as I said this week is a feat of culinary proportions.  On Friday we had my super special meatloaf, on Saturday we had Nacho Beef Dinner Night which we all adore,  and yesterday we had Pot Roast

Tonights gastronomic gala?  Strada.  Wha?? You say.  Exactly-that’s why I’m posting about it.  It is one of my most favorite things of deliciousness, not to mention that it is rediculously versatile (think: of chili-like proportions).  Everyone has there own recipes for it, and you can find about a 1,001 recipes for it on Cooks.com (okay, 49). However, here is my recipe for simple egg strada for picky eaters (or people who have digestive issues-like me with the terrible heartburn induced by everything under the sun):

Pan

Butter 

8 Eggs

2-4 Cups of Milk

2 Cups of Cheese (any kind you like really, I usually do 1 cup of chedder and 1 cup of parmesan)

1 Loaf of French Bread

Spices

First things first-I don’t use spices.  I just use French Bread that already has spices on it.  (I like the Rosemary Oregano French Bread from Walmart for about $2.) Secondly, the reason that the milk says “2-4 cups” is that I do it by sight, but I seem to remember the recipe saying somewhere between 2 and 4.  I just add milk until it the eggs are a pastel yellow color (a little less milk than I use to make scrambled eggs).  And lastly, I will occasionally add bacon in the recipe.  If you do, make sure to pre-cook the meat before you put it in.

Strada is really easy-grease your pan (I like to use butter, but if you perfer something else I don’t think it would make a terrible amount of difference) then slice your french bread into medium thickness pieces.  Put a layer of bread down on the bottom of the greased pan then sprinkle cheese over the top.  Then put another layer of bread, then another layer of cheese.  If you want to add meat, just throw it in there after the cheese.  I like to avoid stacking them directly on top of eachother, like in a tall tower stack, but instead put them together like I’m building a pyramid (two on the bottom one on the top).

Mix eggs and milk and spices (if separate) together.  Pour it over the bread and make sure that you hit every piece of bread (hence, pyramid stacking rather than tower stacking).  Put it in the fridge and refridgerate at least 12 hours or overnight (whichever is longer).

The next day bake at 300 degrees for 1.5 hours or 350 for an hour.  Wait 10 minutes after pulling it out to cut it.

Like I said before there are all different kinds of strada.  If you can handle the spicey things you could do something like this Ranch Strada recipe.  You can even do a dessert strada like this one.  The only must-haves are bread and eggs-other than that YOU MAKE UP THE REST!

I hope you find a strada recipe that works for you because this is definately one of the easiest meals to make and one of the most yummy to eat!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

