Moms The Word

April 17, 2007

WFMW Spring Extravaganza!

Filed under: WFMW — mrslady @ 11:17 pm

Okay “extravaganza” may be a little bit of an overstatement, but it’s still true-I love spring!  I really really do.  Somthing about spring is just fresh and invigorating.  It’s a time to do projects, try new things, and be a little impulsive.

Every time Spring rolls around I always end up doing something big-like I did this Sunday when I cut 9 inches off my hair!  I blame it on the spring bug.  And while I always end up thinking I took it just a little too far, I really enjoy doing new things because in my heart I’ve always considered spring to be the start of my next year.

Here are a list of fun things to do (some that I have done, some that I haven’t) to shake things up a bit and put  a little Spring in your life.

1. Change your “look”.  I just did this [see above note about hair whacking] and it definately has that new Spring feeling.  If you don’t want to go so far as to cut your hair you can always do other things-dye it, perm it, straighten it…or you can stay away from it altogether.  Try a new clothing style that interests you. (I recently fell in love with a pair of 40s looking open toed shoes with a wedge heel and ballet ties, which inspired me to be all excited about vintagey stuff again, which made me want to cut my hair short (and also has me looking at some polka dot shirts!)).  Or decide on a new “signature” color. 

 2. Move the furniture.  You don’t have to buy all new furniture to make your house look different.  Turn some things around, face them in different directions, take advantage of wherever the sun falls in your house.  If you have a few extra dollars, pick up a cute little lamp at Goodwill or buy new curtains.  Even just a few little things can make your house feel new and fresh.

3.  Speaking of curtains, another excellently fun thing to do in Spring is start a project or a new hobby….like making curtains (really easy, I promise), sponge painting your walls, going through your closets, learning to knit (also easy and fun!), starting a new blog or fixing up your current one-find something new to do and you’ll enjoy your Spring a lot more.

4.  Whic brings me to new activities:  I like to do new things in Spring.  Find a new coffee place (if you drink coffee), or a new record store.  Start antique shopping (even if it’s window antique shopping, something I’ve known and loved).  Go to a new excerize class, or start new excerizes at home.  Plant a garden, add new flowers to your existing one, or buy a potted plant for the inside of your house.  I’ve also heard scrapbooking is fun.  There’s a lot of good options out there~just be creative!

5.  Make fun spring meals-add a few new meals to your repretoire and cycle them in.  Or, use things like food coloring and accents to spice up your staple meals.  Blue pancakes for breakfast?  Kids love blue pancakes.

 Do you do anything special for Spring?  If you do, what do you do?  I’m occupied right now….off to play with my new haircut again.

For more tips from WFMW you can visit Rocks in My Dryer.

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks for all the great ideas. I love the “newness” of spring and trying something new seems like a great way to celebrate it. I think I’m going to go antiquing this weekend! 🙂

    Comment by Sarah — April 18, 2007 @ 9:23 am

  2. I love Spring as well. I am getting ready to go get my summer cut. I also enjoy year sales and they start in the Spring. Fun, fun, fun! Thanks for sharing!

    Comment by Janis — April 19, 2007 @ 9:03 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

