Moms The Word

July 12, 2007

Life on the Sun

Filed under: About Me — mrslady @ 1:01 am

Do you know what it’s like to live on the surface of the sun?  I think I might!  It has been in the 90s all week here, and by Friday we are expecting a high of 103+.  I have had to once again cancel my first doctors appointment in order to prevent passing out before I even get to the office.  I am so glad I didn’t disrupt my MIL’s plans for Friday by having them watch our son, only to later cancel because I am a big fat wuss who will not venture outside for even a moment in 103* heat!  Even today, when it was a mere 90-something, I refused to go outside.  I huddled in my house next to the air conditioning and thanked God once again that we have one.

I love the fact that my home is climate controlled!  This is mostly because I HATE WEATHER, I hate seasons, and I hate the outdoors in general.  I don’t “do” outside and I never have.  Even as a kid I used to sit on the porch and cry if/when my parents tried to force me to go out and play. 

My main complaints about the outdoors are that I may become too hot or too cold, there may be wind which forces me to eat my my own hair and/or bugs [ew], that the outdoors tends to be the kind of dirty that gets in your skin and won’t go away, and that I really dislike the idea of encountering non-domesticated animals such as bears, cougars, and wild boars.  I also do not enjoy places that do not have creature comforts such as phones, bathtubs with hot water, beds [complete with pillows, sheets, and blankets],  electricity, and-most importantly-CLIMATE CONTROL.  I perfer to enjoy the 67* and partly cloudy whether in the middle of a parking lot with no mounds of dirt or wild animals in sight. 

If I had to live before climate control and indoor plumbing/electricity I don’t think I would have survived.  Especially not in weather like this.  I am however greatful not only for air conditioning, but for the fact that I am only 7 weeks pregnant instead of 7 months pregnant.  If I were any more pregnant than I am I would have to buy my family ear plugs to block out my incessant whining. 

I am not built to live in a place that has “seasons” and “weather”.

2 Comments »

  1. Good call, cancelling your appointment. This heat won’t last forever. So glad you have air. 🙂

    Comment by Rebecca — July 12, 2007 @ 5:07 am

  2. We’re in NW WA and not used to heat – yesterday was 104* outside, 90 inside. Today, though, mid-70s and NICE. I sincerely PRAY that we don’t have anymore hot weather. Last pregnancy (when we lived in So. Cal) I made my hubby buy me an a/c unit, but if there are any more days over 90…
    Free tip – wear a damp t-shirt. Or just run your a/c (I’m so jealous!)

    Comment by ogle3 — July 12, 2007 @ 8:23 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

