Moms The Word

April 25, 2007

*WFMW* Mother’s Day

Filed under: Family, WFMW — mrslady @ 1:29 pm

Usually Mother’s Day is greeted by my husband happening into a store on or around the holiday to get milk and happening to see a sign that says “Celebrate Mothers”, then coming home to ask me if that was today.  For the past four years he gives me a kiss and says that I’m a great mommy, and I get a Mother’s Day nap in the middle of the day.  That’s enough for me-I really love naps, and honestly I think that a good long nap is the best present a mother could have, especially for a greeting card holiday.

However, I was thinking about it today and it occurs to me that some people actually celebrate Mother’s Day.  Like they do stuff and everything, and that to some people Mother’s Day is right up there with their anniversary and their birthday,  just under Christmas.  We never really celebrated Mother’s Day/Father’s Day when I was a kid-it was never a big deal to my parents; it was like Groundhog’s Day or Cinco de Mayo or Boxing Day….it was on the calender, but no one really ever did anything about it.  We usually just got the parent whose day it was a card and left them alone for the day (our gift to them!). 

After thinking it over I guess I can see how it works though-I can’t say that I hate getting presents myself-so I am thinking I should make a definate resolution this year to actually sit down and do something for my mom [my step mom-for those of you who know me in real life and were thinking “wha?!“] besides getting her a card that says “Happy Mother’s Day” on the front and then repeating it in my own handwriting on the inside.  [Hey, I write my name too!]  Not because she would want something, or even expect something…maybe it’s because she’s NOT expecting anything that I think it would be more fun.

So I got a card [some habits are hard to break] and wrote her a nice long letter and tucked a picture the little bear drew in with it-but what about a present?  I didn’t really have an idea, because whatever I decided I would have to ship it since they live so far away now [still sad about that…..I miss my parents!], plus we’re not exactly the Rockafellers so the gift itself would most likely have to cost less than the shipping costs….then I thought of something brilliant [if I do say so myself].

Photosharing.

It’s totally free [if you find the right site] and doesn’t require any shipping, and a great surprise for family.  What mom/grandma doesn’t ADORE pictures?  And I found the PERFECT site too! You can upload your pictures, and then edit them to eliminate red eye, too much or too little flash [all those mistakes I tend to make], and then put them into an album that is accessable only to the people who YOU invite to view it. 

You can also use the site even if you don’t have a digital camera!  All you have to do is send them your film to develop just like you’d do at any grocery store-the prints start at about 10 cents a piece-and they will send them back to you and automatically put them online for you to share.

Another great part about this site is that you, or any of your family that you invite to see your pictures, can make fun memorabilia out of your pictures [coffee mugs are my favorite idea], and can also request prints!

The only small downside is that people who look at your account need to sign up for an account as well-but it’s a FREE account, so no one has to be out any money for it.

Not only great for Mother’s Day, I could see this working for families who have graduations and weddings and new babies just as well.

Photosharing works for me! To find other things that work, visit Rocks in my Dryer.

1 Comment »

  1. Just weighing in to say that I, too, am a huge fan of naps. I have to go without once every few weeks or so, for one reason or another, but I don’t know what I’d do without them in the long run. But anyway, yes, it’s the perfect gift!

    Comment by Heather — May 3, 2007 @ 8:33 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.